The Arndt Family

By resident Kylie Arndt

Family members: Steve and Kylie (parents), Austin (6), Elle (2.5), Gus (dog — German shepherd)

How long have you lived in this neighborhood? One year!

Where are you originally from? Both my husband and I grew up in the suburbs of Chicago. Steve — Algonquin, Kylie — Naperville

How did you and your spouse meet? Steve and I met through mutual friends while living in Chicago.

Why did you choose to live in this neighborhood? We were looking for a sense of community and knew/hoped being in a school neighborhood would provide that. We were also attracted to the GORGEOUS homes! We love how the homes are all unique. Everyone takes such nice care of their homes and yards. Also, we love the proximity to downtown Arlington Heights. After living in Chicago for many years, pre-kids, we missed that!

Is there anything your neighbors might know you for? Our neighbors probably know us for painting the outside of our house almost immediately when we moved in! And also, our kids riding in their green "Gator" tractor around the neighborhood.

Restaurants: We love Salsa 17, Passero, Carlos and Carlos, and Chick-fil-A for something quick.
Sports teams: Iowa Hawkeyes, Kentucky Wildcats, Chicago Bulls, Bears, Cubs
Music: I love country music and "oldies"!
Family dinner: Pizza and Spaghetti are two meals that everyone can enjoy!
Vacation destination: Our family loves going on trips during the summer, usually to Wisconsin or Iowa! We love Door County, WI, and Phoenix, AZ. Steve and I went to Hawaii for our honeymoon, so that is hard to top!
What are your favorite things to do around town? Walking to parks and downtown, community/neighborhood events, eating and shopping locally.

Austin is our silly, smart, and sweet 6-year-old. He is an "old soul" who can carry on a conversation with just about anyone. He loves school, reading and books, numbers, and football cards, and so far, his favorite sports are golf, baseball, basketball, and flag football. 

Elle is our sweet and sassy 2.5-year-old girl. Her teachers say she is going to be a "CEO" someday — needless to say, she usually gets her way! She is into whatever her brother is into, as well as Legos/Magna Tiles, gymnastics, and taking care of her baby dolls.

What schools do they go to? Dryden (kindergarten) and A Mother's Touch.

Are they involved in any sports? Austin — golf, baseball, basketball, and flag football. Elle is in gymnastics.

What do they like to do for fun? We love to go on walks to all the nearby parks/playgrounds!

What is your profession? What college/university did you attend? I'm a third-grade teacher in Lake Forest, and I attended the University of Iowa.

What inspired you to enter that field? I always wanted to be a teacher from a young age! It started by playing school with my stuffed animal and dolls. I always loved school in general.

What do you love about what you do? I'm constantly learning and growing. Being an elementary teacher is NEVER boring! School is such a big part of a child's life, so I want to make my classroom a safe, fun place for them to learn.

What does your spouse do? My husband is in sales and works for Tegus. He attended the University of Kentucky.

What do you love doing? Home projects and decorating.
Are you involved in any sports, activities, or hobbies? I was a cheerleader at the University of Iowa. Both my husband and I are big sports fans and love cheering on our teams! I also love going on walks with my kids and dog and taking a yoga class when I get the chance.

Are you passionate about any charities/nonprofits/philanthropies? We love the Ronald McDonald House! We stayed there when Austin was born seven weeks early and were blown away by the support they provided for us.

Are you involved in the community at all? We try to be! We have attended most of the Scarsdale events since moving here a year ago. We loved the easter egg hunt, fall harvest fest, and meeting Santa!

Describe your perfect day: No alarm (the kids might sleep past 6?!), walking downtown Arlington Heights to Starbucks for a coffee and breakfast treat, watching Austin play golf or football, making lunch together at home and eating on the patio, a little downtime/nap time at the house, then get together with friends or family for dinner. Early bedtimes, so mom and dad can relax and watch a show!

What are you most grateful for? My family — my kids and husband, both sets of grandparents who are such a huge support system for us. All our health. And our new home and neighborhood and the friends we have made!